The last five winners of the St Leger Stakes

The St Leger Stakes is the last remaining race of the five British Classics which take place each year. Pencilled in for September 11th, the race brings together three-year-old colts and fillies over a distance of one mile and six furlongs, making it the longest of the five Classics. As part of the St Leger Festival at Doncaster, the contest takes pride of place as the meeting’s showpiece.

Every jockey and trainer dreams of getting a win in at least one of the British Classics, and the best in the business will be gearing up for the 2021 edition, which promises to be a cracker. As the punters pore over the best horse racing betting sites, let’s take a trip down memory lane and look back at the last five winners of the St Leger Stakes.

2016 – Harbour Law

It’s hard to believe that it’s been five years since Harbour Law won in dramatic fashion to make Laura Mongan the first female to train the winner of the St Leger. At odds of 22/1, Harbour Law was not exactly the favourite going into the race, but he produced a stunning display after odds-on favourite Houseofparliament had unseated his jockey. George Baker was the man in the saddle steering Harbour Law to glory, securing his one and only British Classics triumph.

2017 – Capri

A year later, it was a more familiar trainer scooping the top prize, as Aidan O’Brien toasted the performance of Capri. Ridden by Ryan Moore, Capri went into the race as the 3/1 favourite, and it was clear why such short odds had been given on the grey following his battling performance up the home straight. O’Brien described Capri as “a horse with a lot of a class”, and he certainly showed, providing Moore with his first winning ride in the St Leger Stakes.

2018 – Kew Gardens

The same trainer-jockey duo would taste victory in the St Leger again 12 months on, this time with Kew Gardens delivering the race-winning performance. Much of the build-up to the race had surrounded whether Kew Gardens would be able to usurp the unbeaten Lah Ti Dar, ridden by Franki Dettori, and it was O’Brien’s colt who ultimately got the job done with a winning margin of two and a half lengths.

2019 – Logician

Dettori had been denied in 2018, but a year later he made up for it in fine style, guiding Logician to victory for trainer John Gosden.

 A legend of the sport, Dettori hadn’t won the St Leger since 2008, but the 11-year wait was brought to an end with a sensational performance to win by just over two lengths. Logician’s speed was frightening, and proved why the bookies had priced him as the 5/6 favourite.

2020 – Galileo Chrome

Fast forward a year, and the coronavirus pandemic had made the professional sporting landscape extremely different. By the time of the St Leger Festival, spectators were allowed into the venue as part of a pilot scheme, and they were able to see Galileo Chrome claim the showpiece victory. Tom Marquand was the man in the saddle, having been drafted in at the last minute after Shane Crosse tested positive for Covid-19. It was a memorable moment for Marquand, and for trainer Joseph O’Brien, who claimed his maiden triumph in the St Leger.